Posted by: flavman | August 11, 2008

A+ IT Technician

In order to live up to the name of my blog I have decided to continue blogging about what I learn everyday.

It just happens that for the next couple of weeks I will be immersed in my self study of the CompTIA  A+ Certification course. Therefore I will post something that I learned from the book everyday.

Today I learned that:

With newer computer systems, there is a 5Vdc(5 volt direct current) level present on the system board even when the system is turned off. On these boards, the power supply and the battery in the RTC(Real Time Clock) module work together to keep time and date information correct.

So that means that even when the computer is turned off but remains plugged in … it still draws 5 volts of power. I know that’s not much but if you have a bunch of computers in the house doing the same thing it could still add up over the course of a year.

Keep reading for other computer tidbits of information in the upcomming weeks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

